Do you need smoke through out the ENTIRE cooking process?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

smokmeup

Original poster
Dec 10, 2012
Yes, I am new to smoking, well not really I did have a brinkman type (the 50.00 Model) but that was a hit and miss years ago.

I recently bought a 30" Masterbuilt single door elec. I have made ribs and chicken.  My son says the food needs more smoke flavor.  I been using apple chips.  I use them dry about a cup or so.  The smoker smokes and that is all I put in till done. 

So, I called Masterbuilt and they say this is all I need and to not soak the chips.?

Should I be soaking and should it be smoking continually?

thoughts please. 

I am a MES40 owner.first off you need to get an AMNPS for your smoker.This will do 2 things, give you continuous smoke for up to 11 hours for those long overnight smokes like briskets. It also allows you to relax and not get up every 30 min. to put more chips in.As a rule of thumb for me everything gets smoke for at least 3 hours or the actual time it takes to smoke them. If I'm doing ABT's they get smoke for the whole 2 hours since that's how long I cook them. If I am doing Chick. breast of thigh they get smoke the whole three hours. If I'm doing ribs 3-2-1 method Smoke 3 hours.If its longer than 4 hours of cooking I add smoke for 1/2 the expected cooking time.I hope this helps.

Last edited: