chunks or chips?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

mattmart0518

Original poster
Jul 25, 2020
Hello guys/gals

I'm brand new to smoking and I have a few questions.

I have a vertical gas smoker pit boss 2 and says in the manual not to use chunks or pellets. I have been using chips and they burn within 45 mins. Would it be safe to use chunks to help the smoke time last longer per tray? maybe mix the chips with a few chunks? Or pellets?

Also I know its been discussed over and over about soaking the wood. Would soaking them last longer in my tray or is it completely pointless none the less?

Thanks guys and I appreciate your time!!

Reactions: JLeonard
can't comment on chunks or chips not familiar with your smoker, as for soaking chips i personally think it's pointless, my opinnion is they won't start smoking until the water is steamed out of them.

Why would you use something the manual clearly says not to use? If its a pellet smoker, use pellets

M mattmart0518 I use the chunks (unsoaked) and a small cast iron skillet. I'm unsure as to what your chip pan looks like. But, if its like the one in my masterbuilt it is rather cheap. I just put my skillet down on top of the chip pan. It gives me enough separation and allows the skillet to hot enough to start the smoking process without the chunks bursting into flame.

M mattmart0518 I use the chunks (unsoaked) and a small cast iron skillet. I'm unsure as to what your chip pan looks like. But, if its like the one in my masterbuilt it is rather cheap. I just put my skillet down on top of the chip pan. It gives me enough separation and allows the skillet to hot enough to start the smoking process without the chunks bursting into flame.