Brisket flat - prevent drying out?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Godzilla

Original poster
Apr 13, 2020
Hey, everyone. I'm brand new to this forum, and I've been smoking for a couple years now and really enjoying learning the ins and outs. This winter - Super Bow Sunday, in fact - I bought a Pit Boss electric pellet smoker. I've had some very good results, and a couple of bad ones.

This weekend, I had a very bad one. I smoked an 8.57 pound flat from my local, trusted meat shop. I kept it at 225 all day, for probably 12-13 hours. The temperature probes were reading in the 203 to 207 range, as I recall, and even though I was getting some resistance, I pulled it off the smoker. The problem is it was tough and dry.

I've gotten pretty spooked reading that you can dry out a flat by leaving it on too long - a lot of the talk out there says you should pull a flat in the 185 to 190 range.

So I guess my two primary questions are:

(1) Have other people had experiences with the Pit Boss probes being off to this degree?

(2) How do I recognize that "sweet spot" between letting a flat stay on long enough and letting it stay on too long?

Thanks for the help. I'm a long-time lurker, first-time poster. I'm really looking forward to hearing some of you experts weigh in.

I have a pitboss pellet smoker, I never go by their probes or thermometers, I use a inkbird 4 probe to monitor my temps, i'm no pro at briskets but most folks don't go by temp, they use it for a guide to when they will start probing. probe should slide through brisket without any resistance. most will start probing around 190-205 internal temps.