MES Support results

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

THW

Smoke Blower
Original poster
Jan 2, 2018
Indiana
Well I am very new to smoked meats, smokers and this forum but since I had a discussion with MES Support personnel, I figured I should comment on it.

I have owned an MES 30" 2.5 gen. smoker for about 3 weeks now. During my first attempt to smoke a rack of ribs, I noticed a rather large difference between what the MES digital readout said the air temperature was and what my separate meat thermometer said it was. My separate Temperature sensor is a Thermoworks Smoke.

The "set temperature" was at 225* and once the MES temperature settled down, it showed a slight variation in temperature during the smoke. The readout on the MES was going between 219* and 225*. That seemed perfect to me.

At the typical 3 hour point when I wrapped the ribs in foil, I started comparing MES digital air temp readout and the Thermoworks Smoke air temp probe attached to the second shelf. What I found out was that the MES, although set to 225* was only heating to 190* when checked at the second shelf. So, I was getting a 35 degree offset which was not what I wanted. It would deem that would mean if I set the "set temperature" to the max of 275*, I would actually only get 240* tops.