WSM 18" coal burn time

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Turkeyyum

Original poster
Mar 10, 2024
Hi all, I'm a rookie smoker and I've slowly been working my way through the different meats and things to smoke and I've had this reoccurring issue. Usually after around 6-7 hours of smoking time in my WSM the temp starts dropping and I can only keep it going by continuously stoking the coals. I hear people say that they can get 12+ hours of cook time on WSM's and I'm just wondering if there's something I'm missing.​
  1. I use Kingsford blue original briquettes and I start by putting around 12-15 coals into the chimney and I light them with some newspapers. While they are heating up I fill the coal ring pretty much to the top with a little crater in the middle for the coals.​
  2. I use around 3 fist sized chunks of wood or approximately that amount in chips if there's no more big pieces left. Once the coals are lit I dump them in, put the torso on and fill 3/4 of the water pan with water. After I just put the lid on and make sure all vents are wide open until it approaches around 200° and then I close down all 3 bottom vents until around a pencil width which is what I hear a lot on videos and such.​
  3. Then I do some waiting and a bit of tweaking until I get it to stay stable around 225° and I add my meat. I check the thermometer 1-2 times an hour just to see if the temp is still stable.​