Wrapping Brisket

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

SJWinter

Original poster
Feb 8, 2020
Hey, I'm very new to all this and have a question that I couldnt find a close enough answer to.

I'm smoking a brisket, only my second, and I wanted to wrap it at 165 degrees. Unfortunately it got to temp earlier than I expected and I didnt wrap it until 177 degrees. Im letting it go to 200, will the wrap time matter?

Hey, I'm very new to all this and have a question that I couldnt find a close enough answer to.

I'm smoking a brisket, only my second, and I wanted to wrap it at 165 degrees. Unfortunately it got to temp earlier than I expected and I didnt wrap it until 177 degrees. Im letting it go to 200, will the wrap time matter?

That won't matter much, I don't wrap my briskets at all. But since your wrapping yours, it will be fine wrapped at 177. I would start checking it for probe tenderness at 195. Sometimes they don't get tender until 205-210, but other times they are done at 195. Each brisket is different.
Al

That won't matter much, I don't wrap my briskets at all. But since your wrapping yours, it will be fine wrapped at 177. I would start checking it for probe tenderness at 195. Sometimes they don't get tender until 205-210, but other times they are done at 195. Each brisket is different.
Al
Thank you, that's great. I was a little worried. I know I'm going to get the stall soon so I may get my head down for a couple hours as it's just coming up for 5am. The first one I did stalled forever about 189.

Thank you, that's great. I was a little worried. I know I'm going to get the stall soon so I may get my head down for a couple hours as it's just coming up for 5am. The first one I did stalled forever about 189.