Two 6lb flats or a 12lb packer cut brisket for a party?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

durrangojim

Original poster
Aug 16, 2018
Newbie here. First of all thanks to all of you who post here for this great resource! About 6 weeks ago I smoked my first 5 lb brisket in my MES 30. Turned out pretty good but took way longer than I antcipated because it was my first time and I had some smoke issues (not enough because it was in the mid 90s that day) and didn't have a probe thermometer to check the temp. Anyway, long story short, my son asked me to make another brisket for his family birthday party because he like the first one so much. I bought a remote thermoeter with two probes so I should be set with that. So here's my questions:

1. Since this is only my second brisket should I buy two 6lb flats or one 12lb packer. We'll have about 14 people at the party and will have hot dogs and some other stuff to eat.
2. If I get the packer should I separate it before smoking?
3. I understand the time is dependent on the thickness of the meat. The party is at 4pm and we'd plan to eat at 5. If I don't separate I was planning on putting the brisket in the smoker at 4am, and then wrapping in foil when it hit the stall. I was counting on about 12 hours total. I don't think I have time to make burnt ends so will sliced point still taste good?
If I do separate, or bought two separate flats I thought I could put it in at about 9am because the two pieces would be thinner than the one. Am I thinking correctly?
4. I bought an AMNPS and plan to use that with hickory pellets. How many hours should I smoke it for? I don't want to make the smoke too strong because I don't know everyone's tastes.

I think that's it! Thanks for any advice!