To marinade or not to marinade? That is the question

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

korbein

Original poster
May 21, 2009
Hi all. I am brand new to smoking and this is my first post, so go easy on me. I have been lurking and doing a lot of research before I jump in and I have learned a lot already. You all have provided me with information over load sometimes but I love it.

So as you can see form above my question is:

Should I marinade my brisket for 24 hrs BEFORE I apply my rub? I have heard that I should marinade for 24 hrs then drain and pat dry. After the brisket is dry apply a thin coating of yellow mustard first then my rub. Refigerate for another 2 -24 hrs (any recomendation on time would be usefull too). Remove from fridge abount 30 min - 60 min before smoking to "warm the meat." Has anyone tried this.

Thanks in advance for the help

Welcome aboard Korbein! Good questions. Here's my bit of help for you:

1) Marinating is optional. If you use a liquid that breaks down meat fibres, it can help soften it- like pineapple juice or vinegar. I've marinated briskets before, and overall didn't think there was much noticeable improvement in the flavor. The marinade doesn't penetrate the meat much more tha a quarter inch anyway. This one is a matter of choice.

2) I've also mustarded my briskets before putting on the rub. I prefer not to on briskets, cause it makes the bark a bit thicker than I like. I get plenty bark on briskets with just rubbing it "nekkid". I rub it usually 12 hours ahead of time and put it in the fridge.