Smoking Kosher & Sea Salts

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

distre

Smoke Blower
Original poster
Aug 9, 2010
Spring, TX
Hi everyone! I'm a newbie down here in TX and I am interested in smoking some Kosher & Sea Salt with my A-Maze-N-Smoker. Any suggestions on time, wood or anything. My thought was 2 batches, fill the AMS w/ hickory and light both ends. Take one batch out and repeat the process w/ the batch still in the smoker. This way I can test both batches, to see how they differ and what I like. I would appreciate any tips or advice anyone has. Thanks to all and Happy Smoking...

I have tried smoking salt on two occasions - the first I got very minimal results as I only smoked it for an hour - on my second attenmpt I smoked at 200 for 3 hours with some Hickory and the salt did take on the smoke flavor but it fades even when stored in an airtight unit

I think I will try it with the AMS with some pecan and see how it goes -

I talked to someone at Dean and Delucas who sells a very good smoked salt and they told me that the company that makes it uses liquid smoke then dries it -

There was a post from Squirrel a while back where she smoked some salt and she might be able to tell you how long her flavor lasted

I just did some with my AMNS, too -- I put kosher salt in a paper plate, lit the AMNS at both ends with some hickory, and let it go for 4+ hours at 80-100*.  I stirred it occasionally so all of it would get some smoke.  I wouldn't worry too much about the temp though like you would with cheese because salt can handle much higher temps than cheese without dissolving.  It was over 100* here and I think my smoker was probably around 105-110*.