Smoked Duck and Cauliflower Soup

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

indaswamp

Epic Pitmaster
Original poster
Staff member
OTBS Member
Apr 27, 2017
South Louisiana-Yes, it is HOT
I have been making this soup for the past 18 years every year in October. I save plucked ducks for this recipe specifically. The original recipe does not call for smoked ducks, but I prefer it much better with the smoked meat. It's a Paul Prudhomme recipe. Even if you don't like cauliflower-this recipe is awesome! The cauliflower when smothered down to nothing smooths out and the bite is gone. It compliments the duck beautifully.

Puddle Ducks rinsed, patted dry, coat of fig syrup to help suck up the smoke for the stock...
DSC02396.JPG

Onda smoker for @180* for 2 hours, just long enough to get a little smoke on them, then in the stock pot for 6 hours to fall apart...
DSC02397.JPG

I always throw a yard bird or two on the smoker after I pull the ducks off since I have the smoker out and fired up, might as well use the smoke right??? I Crank the heat up to 275~300* and chickens are done in about 3 hours.
DSC02400.JPG

The soup is a 2 day process, so the chickens are for supper. Might take one and make a gumbo this week since it's getting cold now with lows in the 40's.

When the duck stock is finished, I'll pull the birds, let them cool, then pick the meat while I concentrate the duck stock down for the soup. More pics tomorrow....

Reactions: foamheart
Why plucked ducks? Well, it's really not the same without it. You need all those bones (neck too, look in the cavity and you will see the necks) to make the rich stock which is the base for the soup. When I make duck gumbo-I use whole plucked ducks as well.

Alright, let's get this soup going.