Real happy with the new Weber Kettle

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

louisvillesmoke

Fire Starter
Original poster
Jul 30, 2017
Smoking noob here. Got a charcoal vertical smoker about two years ago and did about 8 smokes on that over the years. Got a kettle since I realized it was basically a grillmaster right of passage to own one. Did my first smoke on it this weekend and man was I happy with how easy it was to manage temps and with how efficient it was with fuel (those two go hand in hand I think).

Cooked a rack of spare ribs using about 90 briquettes and 10 chucks of hickory for 6 hours and there was still about 1/4 of the charcoal left. I could easily see that going 8-10 hours if needed. Temps were stable between 225-275 with a vent adjustment every 45 minutes or so. I should have that up to two hours or so with continued experience. Used firebrick as the divider. I know this is nothing compared to the 16-20 hours I've heard you can get on the WSM, but I'll take it.

20190727_092340.jpg
20190727_190645.jpg
20190727_191242.jpg

You can never go wrong with a kettle. Mine get used way more then my WSM. Ribs look really good to me.

Point for sure
Chris

You done real good.

Previously used the kettle only as a grill.
Now my go to for smoking small batches.
Learned the versatility for indirect and as a smoker from here and other websites.

Look into snake method. I've had better luck controlling my temps versus the Minion (dump a pile) method.

Get a cheap grate from Wally world and cut it to 2/3 or so.
Lots of room for your meat and for the fuel side.