Newbie - Bryce from Washington

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

bryce

Smoking Fanatic
Original poster
Jun 15, 2012
Olympia, Wa
Great forum, just my place! I'm not a newbie to smoked foods but rather to smoking food. I've been reading this forum for about 3 weeks (signed up for the newsletter and 5 step book) and basically, it's frickin awesome! After endless disappointments trying to find the right smoked food in my hometown, my wife and I decided we were going to have to take things into our (my) own hands to finally be able to feast on properly smoked food that taste good to us.

With that said, a couple weeks ago i ran out and purchased an inexpensive charcoal grill (Aussie $45.00). In addition, i picked up briquettes, a chimney starter, hickory chunks and an oven-safe thermometer. The way is see it is, if i can make good Q with this set up, i will run out and invest into high-quality equipment.

Here's my $45 grill. Pretty sure i will bump out of this within the next month once i decide what to purchase.

e9b6a12c_Grill.jpg

So far I've smoked 2 slabs of ribs, 2 pork shoulders (not sure what cut they were) and one brisket (flat only):

Ribs- OK, smokey, but need a better rub. I also didn't foil them at all. I think next time I will nail them. Will continue to research the "right" rub for my liking. Will also maybe try a foil wrap next time. I did mop them with a vinegar/apple juice mix.