new to the group and to smokers

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

liljoe

Original poster
Jul 29, 2017
Thanks for the add. I'm new to smokers and I'm getting ready to build my first one, an electric smoker. I live in Texas and love to hunt. I'm going to be making and smoking sausage and summer sausage and probably some other meats maybe turkey or hams.
I'm wanting needing advice. I've got a metal box that I want to use as my smoker. The demonsions are 5' tall X 38" wide and 40" deep. My question is what watt burner will I need to get the box hot enough? Thanks in advance.

Welcome LilJoe.

Your box is 52.8 cu ft of space. to Heat it from 40*F to 325*F you'll need 2187 BTUs if it's uninsulated and about 625 BTUs if its well insulated (probably a 2" insulation in the top and walls). A 2000 watt element will generate 6824 BTUs/hr and a 2500 watt element will generate about 8530 BTUs/hr. So I'd say either of those elements would do the job. I've seen elements that go all the way to 7000 watts but that would probably be overkill.

How do you plan on controlling the element? What voltage do you want to run at?

Thank you for sharing your knowledge. I'm very new to this so I'm pretty much guessing and dreaming on what it would be like. I wanted to make it 110v and figured I'd just put a thermometer in the side and regulate the burner to the desired temp. It's not insulated at this time but I'm sure I could put some 2" insulation board on the walls and top and then line with plywood if that would be best. Thoughts....