MES 130B Temp and Smoke Issues

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Wavehopper62

Original poster
May 21, 2019
Hi All...
Newbie here from Northern Ohio, I’ve been lurking on here for a couple years and finally decided to post.
I bought an MES 130 back in November, it seemed to work fine thru the winter but the last couple of cooks it hasn’t seemed to be working great. Longer cook times and doesn’t seem to be burning thru the chips. I’ve read a lot on here, I know I probably need an A-Maze-n but I feel I have another issue.
It has a built in meat probe. I don’t usually use it, but I had hanging in the box while doing some ribs and I noticed it was showing 15-20 degrees lower than the control temp. I had never really tested it so I didn’t really trust it. The next day I tested it in ice water and boiling water and it was accurate. So I turned on the smoker to test the temp to 225 let it run for an hour or 2 and it consistently ran 7-8 degrees lower than control temp. I then set it to 275 and consistently ran 10-12 degrees lower. I’m still not sure I trust the probe, so I have an InkBird arriving today.
After this test I called Masterbuilt, they basically said 5-12 degrees difference is not uncommon. The rep said he didn’t think there was an issue with heating element, but they are gonna send me one anyway (but it’s on backorder). He also mentioned it could be the internal thermostat, but that’s not an exchangeable part on my model.