Lowering temp on a Dyna-glo LP gas smoker

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Shinnosuke

Original poster
May 6, 2023
Aloha all, first post here and I'm a noob when it comes to smokers so I thought I'd ask those in the know. I bought a Dyna-Glo wide-body LP Gas smoker without doing much research first (got too excited to get smoking!) and I'm having trouble getting it dialed in. I'm mainly smoking fish, specifically marlin because we'll catch an occasional marlin and you really can't eat or give away (as crazy as that sounds) 200+lbs of fillet/chunks so I'm trying to smoke it. The problem is my propane smoker has two burners but using just one burner at the lowest setting still gets the temp up to 240-250 degrees and that's too hot for the marlin strips that I'm smoking. I was told by other fishermen that I need the temp to be below 200, more like 160-170 degrees as the fish is smoked for about 3-4 hours at that temp and the fish is pulled at 125-130 degrees internal temp. So, after reading through some of the posts here, it looks like I have to plug some of the burner "holes" up so less flame, less heat BUT...how safe is that? If not securely fastened in could the propane just leak out and then cause a hazard? Is there another way besides plugging holes to get the temp way down? Mahalo for any help!

Ok, thanks for the info! So do I need a specific type of needle valve or are they all the same? Can I just hop on Amazon and get one or do I need more specifics?