I got a 21lb fresh ham - what to do!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

themagicone

Original poster
Jun 10, 2008
I bought a whole hog a few months ago and had them leave one leg intact. What I ended up with was a 21lb slab of thick meat. Last week I bought a nice offset smoker. I'm new at this and I can't decide what to do with this meat. I've read many many website on "curing" the ham in salt/sugar/pepper/ground clove. I made this mixture up with about 5 gallons of water, but now with it made is this the best route for this meat? It is partially defrosted in the fridge and need to decide quick what I'm going to do. So do I:

A: Cure the meat in the brine for 2 weeks and smoke over apple wood for like 8 hours
B: Just smoke is over wood for 8 hours
C: Find a commercial curing mixture, i.e. mortons or Bradley's and cure that way, then smoke.
D: ?

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

BTW, I smoked my first ribs the other day on the new smoker using 2-2-1 method, turned out alright but were a lot better the day after. One mistake I know I did was forgetting to remove the membrane on the ribs. Ah the fun of learning.

The first question for you to answer is do you want smoked pork or smoked ham? If you decide on smoked pork then rub it and smoke away. If you want smoked ham then you'll need to read up on curing the meat and from the size your talking about 2 weeks may not be long enough. Also which ever way you go you must go by internal temps of the meat and not by time.