Flat Never Getting Tender - Updated

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

jpwheels

Original poster
Jul 9, 2023
Hi all...
I'm relatively new to the meat smoking game having only been at it for 4 years.
I've learned a ton reading here during that time. But this is my first post.

Yesterday, I smoked my second brisket to reheat for dinner today.
It started out as at 13lbs. And it probably went on the smoker @ about 10lbs after trimming.
I smoked it for 10 hours @ 250 until I was happy with the bark.
I then wrapped it in foil with some beef tallow and put in the oven set @ 275 to finish.
At my elevation, water boils @ 199 degrees. And the point hit that temp and probed very tender after about 2.5 hours.
The temp in the thickest part of the flat was only 194, and it wasn't tender.
So I let it keep cooking thinking that the flat would come up to temp and probe tender before too long.
But after a couple of more hours cooking, the flat temp had only risen to 196 and was still not tender.
Although this is only my second full brisket, I've smoked enough pork butts to know that pushing a large cut of meat
beyond 199 or having it sit at that temp for too long leads to the meat drying out.
So I was stumped as to what to do with this brisket.
The point had been sitting @ 199 for an additional 2 hours while I tried to get the flat up to temp and tender.
I knew I could have continued waiting for the flat to get done, but I got really concerned that the point would get dried out and ruined in the process.

So I have two questions;
Is there anything I can do to save this for dinner tonight?

And is there anything I can do differently next time to avoid this issue?

Looking forward to the feedback and help!

jp