First time UDS user and failed miserably

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Dirtylarry

Original poster
Sep 4, 2021
Hey guys and gals. I've been doing BBQ for ~15 years or so and have put out some fantastic food in my time. However, I've never used a UDS. I just got a Hunsaker Vortex moving away from my stickburner because I wanted something with a bit less babysitting. My burn-in went alright. However, I did my first cook today doing beef short ribs and I am very disappointed. We just bought half a cow and I was excited to throw some in the smoker and have something nice for the weekend. From all of my reading I figured on 3-4 hours to do the short ribs to get them up to temp at around 275. I had the smoker dialed in between 260-270 with my digital probe thermometer. The ribs got up to temp in less than 2 hours. They are tough and dry. I really don't know what I did wrong but I am extremely disappointed in the experience I just had. Any insight would be really helpful as the only thing I can think of is the meat quality maybe? The cow was 2 1/2 years old and on the smallish side at just shy of 1000 lbs. We used some of the ground beef and it turned out okay in the dish we cooked, and another roast ended up decent in some rice. I'm really hoping it's not the cook(me). Also, if it matters, I left the membrane on the bone-side of the ribs alone so I'm wondering if that has contributed to this. I have only done beef short ribs one other time years ago and didn't remember if I took it off or not, but videos I watched before this cook indicated to leave it on. Second guess that decision. The silverskin was mostly removed.

Help!

Last edited:
Reactions: JLeonard