Cook time, grill temp for4.5lb spatchcock chicken needed

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

BC Buck

Meat Mopper
Original poster
Dec 16, 2018
MO
Lost my notes for how to do spatchcock chicken on pellet grill. Think last time smoked 180 temp for hour then kicked up to 350 for set time to finish. I know it had good flavor but skin was tuff. Thanks.

I’m new to the pellet world, reason I’m on here reading. But I did the spatchcock last weekend for the first time as an alternative to beer can(which I’ve read isn’t the way to go now a days) and mine took 1 hour on smoke and then 3 more at 275 on pit boss. Was really good for first try

Chicken should be cooked hot, like 350/400.
Should take an hour or less so check internal temps starting at 30 minutes and then at 45 and if still not done check every 5 minutes until done.

I agree with cooking it at 350F plus and if you have a remote temp probe it'll help keep you from opening and checking temps. If you have two probes put on in the thigh and one in the breast. If you only have one put into the thigh and shoot for 165F

Chicken should be cooked hot, like 350/400.
Should take an hour or less so check internal temps starting at 30 minutes and then at 45 and if still not done check every 5 minutes until done.
Cooking that high help to keep from getting tuff skin?

If anything it will make it nice and crispy.
Oh how I miss chicken skin, my mistake was going to the doctor who did some tests and determined my blood was largely composed of fat from the BBQ I cooked.

• Sad
Reactions: TunaciousBBQ28
Cooking that high help to keep from getting tuff skin?