Cold smoke salmon

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

becks56

Original poster
Aug 17, 2023
This is my first attempt on cold smoking salmon
I’m using a 12” pellet tube inside my pellet smoker
I noticed that the temp is now at 95
Should I worry been smoking for about 4 hrs now

I'm no expert but I think I would be a little worried, I'm sure someone with more knowledge will be around, maybe give a description of what you did. Did you use cure #1?

I'm no expert but I think I would be a little worried, I'm sure someone with more knowledge will be around, maybe give a description of what you did. Did you use cure #1?
No just salt and brown sugar for 36 hrs
wiped off and soaked 4 1hour in water
Backed in the fridge over night
Then in the smoker with tube

I'm not an expert either, but without cure #1 I think you're Flirt'in with disaster. I hope your well stocked with T/P.

Chris

No just salt and brown sugar for 36 hrs
wiped off and soaked 4 1hour in water
Backed in the fridge over night
Then in the smoker with tube
What was the temp when you started and how long was it at 95, the salt will help cure it but cold smoking I believe is around 70 or less, dont toss it yet I would wait for an expert on this.

What was the temp when you started and how long was it at 95, the salt will help cure it but cold smoking I believe is around 70 or less, dont toss it yet I would wait for an expert on this.
I noticed it at around the 3.5 hr mark it was around 60 when the tube and the salmon went in

I think it got too warm, for too long. Found a few threads that might help for next time. Welcome to the forum!