Boston Butt On My 22.5 Inch Weber

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

kettle man

Fire Starter
Original poster
Oct 21, 2012
North Carolina
So I am relatively new to smoking. I have been grilling 15 plus years on a gas grill.  Originally I was attracted to the ease and controlled environment of gas.  My most recent grill was the Weber Gensis.  Great grill and I have loved it but gas left a lot to be desired.  Not having the spare change for an Egg I recently decided to buy the 22.5 Weber Kettle. I used to laugh at people with the Weber Kettle. I thought they were too cheap to get a good gas grill and to be quite frank not as skilled.  Boy I could not have been more wrong. The Weber Kettle is a warhorse and while it requires more work than a smoker it produces a quality end result.

Yesterday I cooked an 8 lb butt on my kettle.  It was the best I have done so far. I knew the day was going well when the aroma was wafting over my house and into the street.  Here is a quick summary of the cook and my day:
  • Applied mustard and dry rub I got from a favorite site of mine at 4:00 Friday afternoon
  • Woke up at 6:25 and started my chimney (16 bricks of Kingsford charcoal)
  • Took out the butt
  • Put it on ay 6:55 AM ( a little early but I wanted to work out)
  • Grill set up: drip pan with water, charcoal dividers with 8 coals on each side and a red brick.
  • At 8:05 temp had dropped to about 175 so I added a few more hot coals
  • Over the course of the next 8 hours I added 2-4 bricks of charcoal and my hickory wood chips as needed.
  • The heat stayed between 225-250 all day (first time I have successfully managed heat on my kettle)
  • Slow and low for 9hrs
  • Wrapped in foil for two hours before I pulled