Beginning smoker

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Txmedic1292

Original poster
Jul 25, 2023
Good afternoon, I am new to smoking and I am I the process of building my smoker. I am 50’ish and have been grilling for some time. So this is new to me, any advice anyone can give is much appreciated.
This is the pit I am working with. It’s a 100 gallon propane tank. 37” CC and 30”diameter. I have a smaller 100 pound propane tank to use for my FB that is 15” diameter and thinking @ 20”-24” long.
Rick R.
Txmedic1292

Attachments

• 61370765026__FE3E01B4-AC76-4783-9B6B-652166BA671E.jpeg
    61370765026__FE3E01B4-AC76-4783-9B6B-652166BA671E.jpeg
    81.8 KB · Views: 22
  • 61396030745__95440122-60A9-4661-9F04-4D7330923024.jpeg
    61396030745__95440122-60A9-4661-9F04-4D7330923024.jpeg
    346.5 KB · Views: 23
Reactions: JLeonard
Welcome from Colorado.
There is a smoker build calculator here that was put together by daveomak daveomak . I’ll see if I can find it or do a search up top of the menu bar with the magnifying glass icon. Very comprehensive build and design calculator.

Reactions: Txmedic1292
Welcome from Colorado.
There is a smoker build calculator here that was put together by daveomak daveomak . I’ll see if I can find it or do a search up top of the menu bar with the magnifying glass icon. Very comprehensive build and design calculator.
Thank you! I think I came across the calculator your talking about. It’s exactly what I needed to figure out my fire box requirements.

Reactions: SmokinEdge
Just what I look for in a FB ............... I want length. I want to be able to move the fire away from the cook chamber, or rarely, move it closer to the chamber.