Baby Back fail x 2

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

mrbbqnewbie

Original poster
Jul 15, 2019
Hey there,
I have a Masterbuilt pro 30 inch electric smoker. I’m new to smoking but I’ve been grilling for years . So my first two attempts at smoking baby back’s in my opinion have been fails. I noticed that I had to cut the racks in half both times otherwise the meat would be touching the sides of the smoker. Both times , I removed the membranes and liberally rubbed on both sides of the ribs covered them in saran wrap and put them in the fridge overnight . The first time I tried was the 221 method , apple juice in liquid pan, smoked 2 hours, wrapped in foil with a little apple juice 2 hours, last hour with bbq sauce. Ribs were not tender at all (225). Yesterday, 3 racks (again cut in half for fit) using 321 method. This time the rub I used was three little pigs, apple cider in pan and a little in foil during the 2 hours. They tasted great but again by no means falling off the bone and were a bit tough. What am I doing wrong????

What are you using to monitor the temp in your smoker?

First thing that comes to mind is you are running lower than 225

Reactions: JC in GB
Just the probe that came with it. I made jerky with London Broil the other day and it was perfect

I use my iPad with the Bluetooth and with or without the probe it fluctuates between 220-230 depending on when the element comes on

How do I calibrate or get a accurate temp?

You'll want to get a separate thermometer/probe set up to see exactly what the actual temp is inside of the smoker.
Then adjust the smoker's controller setpoint until the separate thermometer reaches your desired temperature.
Most electric smokers are inaccurate.