Absolute Newbie

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

luvgonzo

Original poster
Mar 30, 2021
It would be great if someone can move this if it's in the wrong place.

So I've been BBQing for years using a kettle BBQ and just throwing on coal and self lighting bags but I was never a fan of the taste and felt that there was a lingering taste of the lighting fluid.

So loads of American BBQ programmes about lately and it's always wood and a real art to the cooking so I bought myself a new Weber kettle BBQ and I have a friend who has an unending supply of cherry and Apple wood and vowed to never use coals again.

Great, but I don't get it. So I light the wood but it doesn't have much heat for too long, am I not using enough, should I have the lid on or off? I've had a few attempts and watched some videos but can't seem to get the hang of it.

I'm determined to get it right as when on the odd occasion I managed to cook something through with pure luck the result was excellent.

Thanks for any replies.

You will do better using some charcoal with wood chunks under it
Coal Basket.JPG
For indirect set the coals on the out side of the ring.
Welcome to SMF

Are you talking about smoking with your kettle? If so do a search for minion method or snake method on your kettle. It still requires coal but you get a long low and slow cook out of it and you can mix wood chunks in. If you are tasting the fuel your using to start the charcoal try a charcoal chimney. I have one and just light some of the paper from the charcoal bag under it to get the coals going then dump them in. I don’t think I’ve seen anyone strictly use wood on a kettle just because you would have to keep opening the lid to add more wood to keep it burning.