2nd smoker

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

debbie1105

Original poster
Jun 1, 2012
Rochester area, upstate NY
OK.  So, I'm a relative newbie at smoking but am definitely hooked.  So much so that I think I'm going to be buying a second smoker.  My first (and only) smoker is an MES30 analog.  It is sitting on my deck at home.  And here I am at my weekend place with 8 lbs. of prepped/marinated beef ready for jerky.

I had asked some neighbors to borrow their smoker (MES, but not sure what model)  this weekend so I could be here without my own smoker and still make jerky.  I know they're jerky fans so even offered to share the bounty.  Well...Saturday is more than half over and I haven't seen that smoker.  Guy's a fisherman and went out early this morning.  Got back a couple hours ago but still no smoker in sight.  I'm frustrated.  8 lbs. of meat in vacuum bags.  Just need the racks & a smoker to put them in.

So...it won't be this weekend (because even I'm not THAT impulsive) but I see a second smoker in my near future.  Question is what one.  I don't have a ton of money to spend.  Want electric for the ability to set it and (pretty much) forget it.  My MES30 is easy (which I like) and has a pretty good temp range (which I also like).  Down sides are a) very little smoke at lower temps.  b) small capacity.

Looking for recommendations. 

Thanks.

Deb