WSM Temps too High?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

swy19

Original poster
Mar 2, 2017
Morning all,

Have a pork butt going right now, and having some issues with temp management, specifically with it being too high.

I don't get it at all, as I have the BBQ Guru (fan control), which is attached to one hole on one of the dampers. The other two have tape over them, and the other two dampers are completely closed.

It's a cold day in DC, I threw some water in the pan, but I'm still getting into the 300+ degree temps. I've had some issues with this before, but never this bad.

Any ideas? If there isn't any oxygen getting into it, how is it still getting so high?

Could air be getting through the charcoal resupply door?

Are you using the lid therm? If yes then that could be the culprit. Try using another therm to compare.

Chris

Are you using the lid therm? If yes then that could be the culprit. Try using another therm to compare.

Chris

No, I have a dual wireless probe inside and the party Q BBQ guru also measures temp.

If you have thin blue smoke, or invisible smoke, and only if you have those smokes (not white or grey) close down your top vent to about 1/4" open. It will reduce the air flow through your WSM and chamber temps will start dropping in 5-10 minutes. Once your back in the ballpark of where you want to be, start opening your top vent back up in small increments.

I've had issues in the past where the Guru overstoked the hot coals, especially using KBB charcoal. I'm using RO Ridge briquette charcoal now and my Guru is basically obsolete. I'll still use my top vent, but only if I've done everything I can with the lower vents and I have well established thin blue or invisible smoke.