To wrap or not to wrap (Chuck Roast and Pork Butt)

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

mdbannister

Smoke Blower
Original poster
Dec 5, 2017
Hey guys, this is my first post on here. I'm still new to smoking. I have done a few briskets and ribs on the gas grill, but I just got an Masterbuilt electric smoker (long story, but in my apartment community, we're not allowed to use wood/charcoal anywhere, and the only place gas is allowed is on the grills provided to the community...so electric is as good as I can go).

Anyhow, I'm trying my MES for the first time, and doing a chuck roast and a pork butt. I'm planning to take both to 205 degrees, but I'm not sure if I should wrap at any point along the way. I don't wrap my brisket and I like the way it turns out, but it seems a lot of people are wrapping the chuck and butt (at least from what I've seen online). Thoughts?

Wrapping will help you get it through the stall quicker. The drawback is you lose some of the bark. If you have the time and like the bark don't wrap. If you don't care about the bark or are short on time wrap. The meat will taste the same either way. I'm not a huge fan of a heavy bark so I wrap. Good luck with either direction you go, and let us know how it turns out.

Chris

Reactions: mdbannister
Thanks guys! I'm still thinking it over, but now I'm thinking I may need to get an AMNS or AMNPS. I hadn't heard of those before today, but it seems like it's a pretty useful tool!

Thanks guys! I'm still thinking it over, but now I'm thinking I may need to get an AMNS or AMNPS. I hadn't heard of those before today, but it seems like it's a pretty useful tool!

Yup---All I've been using since Todd invented them (8 Years).