How much time to add for two birds? - electric smoker

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

dcope

Original poster
Jan 1, 2016
Chattanooga, TN
I have a Masterbuilt electric.

I’ve smoked a turkey for the last 2 years — it absolutely ridiculous how good it is

Due to my job and funky schedule, I haven’t been home for Thanksgiving nor Christmas for the past ten years.

So two years ago, my wife and I started having a Thanksmasirthday (my birthday is 11/15) get-together with friends and family. Well, it practically doubled last year.

Anyway, short version - I’m going to smoke two 12 lb birds this year. And I’m wondering how much longer I should plan to add to my cook time (usually 6-6.5 hours on 225 for one bird).

My gut says 3 hours. Of course, I always cook to internal temp — but since we’ve got 16 people coming this year, I need to know when to get them in the smoker.

Will also be doing 3 1.5 lb Herb & Garlic pork roasts on my Weber.

Anyone have a clue? The Google had a lot of suggestions for chickens....but not multiple turkeys. I would imagine this has been discussed at some point, but I’m far to lazy to click through all the previous threads.

Thanks for your time,
Dave

No extra cook time needed. You may need more recovery time after placing the birds in to get the pit back up to temp due to the mass of cold meat. Other than that cooking time would be the same. Both birds will be done when each one reaches an IT of 165°

Reactions: dcope
I think DS hit the nail on the head.

With the MES and 2 birds your biggest issue will be recovery time BUT 225F isn't hard for the MES to recover. 275F with 2 birds now that is a different story.