How much smoke is good? Newbie question

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

amills1210

Original poster
Mar 6, 2017
Hi Everyone.

I am new to the smoking community. I have done salmon and 2 whole chickens and both turned out great. I am using a vertical propane smoker.

I have been doing research on the thin blue smoke but really havnt found the answer I am looking for to my question.

How much smoke is good? Should smoke be constant coming out of the damper or should I see a little bit every now and then?

The way I have managed my last two smokes is if I didnt see any smoke, I would replace a handful of chips. The temp I had my smoker at (~225) would result in lots of smoke coming out (dry chips for the salmon, tried soaked chips for the chicken so experience with both).

Any tips or guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Anything from thin blue to seeing little but can smell it is good. Every time you add chips you are going to get some thicker white smoke for 5 minutes or so but it should go blue in short order. Use dry chip or better yet chunks. Wet chips are only for tossing on charcoal. With other fuel chips don't smoke until they dry out...JJ

Yep, Chef JJ makes very good points. You don't want a tire fire.

No, a good smoke will be slight, it may even be hard to discern, but its there doing the job you wish it to. 

Sure, on the start up you'll have more smoke, but it'll keep going after the show is over.

I like to use big chunks of dry smoking wood. I also (since I use charcoal) like to stagger them across my fire, or the length of it. If that makes sense.

I did (%#@%^&*$%#) a 14 hour cook today and burnt quite a bit of smoking wood along with my charcoal, at its smokiest it looked like this: