Can't get smoke at 225 degrees

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

boddman

Original poster
May 7, 2017
So, I guess low and slow WITH smoke is not an option with this MES 40" I just got.  I'm very disappointed. Masterbuilt was absolutely no help!  I can't get dry wood chips to burn unless I set it to 275. Any suggestions?

Hey guys, I'm new at this.  I'm seeing a lot of advertising but no real help, this inquiry being an example.

I'm looking for some value in being part of this group..

I'm having the same problem and I'd appreciate anyone addressing the fact that an electric smoker doesn't smoke.

I am new to this also, so perhaps a more experienced owner would be more help, but this is my "two bits".  When I pre-seasoned mine, I initially had a problem with the Weber chips I was using notburning much at 275, but when I adjusted the top vent (I think I closed it down almost shut) they started burning and putting off a lot of smoke, so try adjusting top vent.  Also when I started my first meat smoking this morning I pre-heated smoker to max (275) to get the chips burning real good and then lowered temp to cooking temp.  Smoke is doing good so far.  All I need to do is add chips every hour or so.

I have an MES 40 (for about 4 years now) and have no problem getting the wood chips to smoke at 225F and up.  I do not soak my chips and I only use chips for very short smokes...like less than 2 hours (beer can burgers, fatties, etc.)  However, back in the day when I did soak my chips, they did smoke as well...so I am not sure what is the root cause of your problem.  I do run my MES40 with the top vent wide open - always.