Why bother?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

joe black

Master of the Pit
Original poster
OTBS Member
Jan 25, 2015
Greenville, SC
I know that us who look at this sub-thread are mostly wood burners, but one thing that I have a problem with is the vast majority of electricity burners, if you will. I like to respond to new readers and welcome them to our site. Many times, when I open their post, It will begin, "I have been grilling for a few years and I wanted to try smoking so I bought a xxxxxxx electric smoker". How the heck did they decide on an electric? Why don't they just take the stove from their kitchen and put it on the patio? They are forever complaining that a heating element went out during a cook or that the power went out in the middle of their cook, etc,etc,etc. I've never had any of those problems with my stick burner. I know that everyone is entitled to their preferrences, but having never done any smoking of any kind, why does anyone suddenly decide that they want an electric cooker? Does anyone ever do any due diligence on this decision???

Please don't crucify me, just share a little reasoning. Thanks, Joe

I'm sure it comes down to budget and marketing. When you walk into the store you see these fancy electrics with packaging that claims to be the easiest way to smoke. So if you want to try smoking but only want to invest $200 into it then they are definitely appealing. They are also much smaller than any other smoker so they are great for apartments, townhomes, etc. 

As for the using your oven outside portion, that topic has been gone around and around on here numerous times so I will just leave it alone.