Where is the temp to be measured?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

dsmuzic

Original poster
Sep 17, 2023
I'm getting ready to smoke a brisket. Just realized I'm not sure if I'm supposed to be measuring the ambient temperature or the temperature inside the meat. Can anyone help me out with this please?

Reactions: JLeonard
And if you need a multiprobe therm...Look up Inkbird Inkbird on amazon. They are a sponsor and make good therms at a good price. Got one Ive been using hard for 4 yrs now without a problem.
And be sure and show off your smoke!

Jim

Reactions: DougE
I don't temp ribs , but this is the normal position for watching grill temp like Chris said above .
1694995724373.png
I run a snake on brisket , so the grate temp is taken across from the burning part of the snake . Just gives you an idea maybe .
1694995877486.png

If it is a whole packer brisket, I would suggest two probes in it.
One in the flat and one in the point.
Probe tip needs to be in the center of the meat.
Also as others said, a probe on the grate to monitor the cook chamber temp so you can keep it constant.

If it is a whole packer brisket, I would suggest two probes in it.
One in the flat and one in the point.
Probe tip needs to be in the center of the meat.
Also as others said, a probe on the grate to monitor the cook chamber temp so you can keep it constant.
Yes it was a whole packer brisket. I used a double probe thermometer but the temps were like 30 degree difference between the center of the point and the chamber. The meat read hotter than the chamber. I had a pretty difficult time trying to keep it consistently around 250. Would go up to 280 and then down to 220. Used lump charcoal. I guess practice makes perfect