Selecting my first brisket to smoke

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

grebs

Fire Starter
Original poster
Jun 26, 2016
ohio
Hi all, I'm looking for a little advice on what i should buy for a first time brisket smoker. Looking for around 10 pounds give or take. Seems like there's a few choices. Do i go packer? Flat? This is all new to me so im a lil frustrated.
A local place only has like 18 pounders and will only cut them in half if i buy the whole thing. Kind of hoping i could just buy something with minimal work on my part as far as cutting it.
I can handle trimming some thicker fat but like i said i have no experience with meat besides stuffing in my mouth.
Any tips or suggestions to help make my fist experience good would be great

I recommend looking for a whole packer closer to the 10-12 lb range.  Leave the point on.  You can trim the fat depending on how much there is, but I like to leave 1/4" or so on there so I don't trim real hard.  225-235 for 18 hours...about.

I like this rub for briskets:

4 T kosher salt

4 T CBP

2 T cracked coriander seed

2 T cracked mustard seed

2 T gran/pwd garlic

2 T gran/pwd onion

What part of the country are you in? Maybe there is someone here from that area that can recommend where to buy whole packers.

Wal-Mart, Target, Albertson's, Costco, Sam's Club, HEB, most other retail grocery stores will either carry them or be able to order them.

I live in north east ohio. I called an acme close by but they only had a flat in stock and it's about 6 pounds.
There are Sam's clubs here so i will check them out and see if i can find a whole packer around 12 pounds.
Questions. .
Is injecting nessesary?