Newbie-New MasterBuilt SmokeHouse ???'s

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

rvrivalkc

Original poster
Feb 10, 2008
Hi Guys

Iâ€[emoji]8482[/emoji]m a newbie here. I am an RVer and have been smoking in a Rival smoker.

We spend winters in Gulf Shores AL. The other day we were at SAM Club, and there it was. A MasterBuilt SmokeHouse with window in front. Wife said yes, so loaded it up and headed to RV.
Cleaned inside, assemblied as needed. Heated unit up to 275(max temp on unit) for 3 hours, then smoke for 45 minutes.

So now Iâ€[emoji]8482[/emoji]m canâ€[emoji]8482[/emoji]t wait to try a pork butt and some Kick *** beans.
I have read that some of you use Aluminum pans to put pork in, then pan on rack.
I assume you put the pork on a rack in pan (or layer of cut potatoes to act as rack)
This keeps the racks clean.
Am I correct ?

I noticed that when I seasoned the unit and put in the soaked wood chips, it seemed to put out a lot of smoke with great gusto. Not the thin blue line. It was on the highest heat. I had the top air vent just barely open.

Will the smoke have less gusto at a lower temperature?
How far open do most of other masterbuilt owner set the top vent?

Thanks for any help!!!!

Jerry Christie

PS It was neat to watch the smoke thru the window swirl all around the inside.

Unless I am pre heating I always keep the vent wide open. I have had mine since May08 and I love it and have smoked on it a hundred times I guess. If you have any questions I would be happy to help you. Just email me or pm me.

Good luck!!

Ron

RvRivalKC
Welcome to SMF !!!