Newbie Here

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

racer102

Fire Starter
Original poster
Jul 31, 2015
First build need advice. Will this work for a air compressor tank 20 X 48

1-   18 X 18 Fb to be used

2-  Cut into tank will be 5" from the bottom to seam which is 5" in from crown of tank

3- plate mounted flush with FB. Will be using a channel and sloping to opposite end for drain

4- cooking grate would be 4 to 5 inches above plate

Thanks in advance for the info. Those calculation pages just screw me up have come up with 8" from the bottom seems really high to me and just leaves no grate area to speak of

So with a dome end on a compressor tank what do I use Partial round, football ETC. ????

Also how deep do I set it into the tank

Last edited:
So I measured the tank from seam to end of dome 43.5" so that is my true length now, not the way I was measuring it total end to end at 48".

So recalc. at 43.5"

That's close enough to get an approximate volume... AND will get good numbers for the rest of the calculations so you have a great smoker.......

Dave

Thanks Dave greatly appreciate your advice. Now off to start up the plasma cutter and get tis thing started

Here it is the start of my smoker. Thanks to Dave for the help. I'm slowly doing this as I had cancer surgery 4 weeks ago and I'm still not up to full speed so I tinker then rest for the day then work a little more

Marking the cut out for the throat was a challenge but got it marked. I used my Dial Indicator base with a long drill bit in it the taped a magic marker to that. Set height and went to marking. Put a piece of sheet metal down so that it would move smoothly around without any jarring worked great.

Here is what I have so far