Newbie here needs help??

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

ironmike323

Original poster
Oct 2, 2013
St Louis,Michigan
Hi just built new wood smoker it is 4ft tall,26 inches deep and 2ft wide with four racks.I will be ussin g hot plate and a amazin  smoker.It is built out of tounge and groove 1x8 pine.I have door on front and small door on bottom to maintain smoker and hot plate.Question is where do i vent top and bottom and how big of vents?I have been reading and some say for exhaust vent in top or bring it down closer to top rack so heat rises and comes back down to excape..I will lose a little through the roof and door maybe.Also do i offset vents say intake on one side and exhause in top at oposite corner??

So where to vent?

What size vents?

Offset top and bottom?

Do i exhause vent on top or somewhere else?

help is appreciated also what do you use if wanting to insulate?

not to be smart a$$  but i humbly suggest you take some time and search the board for a while.  theres a lot of good info here, i just joined, but i am not a stranger to forums.   from my experience as a top poster on another forum of an unrelated topic (fishing), one thing i know folks dislike is someone just jumping in and asking a question without saying hi first and not doing a little research, particularly if you questions does not have pictures associated with it, it is very difficult to answer anything that it visual like your quandry. 

I don't mean to be rude here since i am new to this site, but i am not sure if you will get much of a response otherwise, ( i may very well be very wrong 

hope you find the fixes you need. 

Last edited by a moderator: