Newbee with Questions about offset

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Pinback78

Original poster
Dec 12, 2019
Hello,

I am quite new to the serious smoking hobby, just did some Weber charcoal smokes, and I am now about to get into the
offset - wood stick world.

My question is why does the fire get started with charcoals in these types of smokers?
I can't just burn wood?

Thank you!

I like to use charcoal to start but it's easy to light and get going. You can go solid wood just use some dry kindling or something to get your fire started and the burn wood down to hot coals.

Happy Smoking,
phatbac (Aaron)

I like to use charcoal to start but it's easy to light and get going. You can go solid wood just use some dry kindling or something to get your fire started and the burn wood down to hot coals.

Happy Smoking,
phatbac (Aaron)

Thank you. That's what I wanted to do, but wasn't sure if there is any other reason then simplicity.

what Aaron said, you could definitely just use wood, I think a lot people use charcoal to get a faster and more consistent heat and just add some wood chunks for smoke.

what Aaron said, you could definitely just use wood, I think a lot people use charcoal to get a faster and more consistent heat and just add some wood chunks for smoke.
That's what I am doing on the Weber Kettle, and in my eyes to whole idea to the Offset Smoker is to use wood only. I maybe will try both and see what works better for me.

Thabk you

It's easier using charcoal. 1 bag will last you many cooks. I start with less than 1/2 of a chimney. Get the coals ashed over then pour them in the fire box. Then I add what ever splits I'm using for the cook. Very quickly I have my splits burning and I'm ready to go.