new to smoking and new masterbuilt 30in electric digitial smoker not producing smoke at low temps

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

thanosazlin

Original poster
Jul 31, 2017
hi all,  i'm new to smokers , so i bought this smoker

https://masterbuilt.com/product/20070910-30-electric-digital-smoker/ 

i am only doing dry-runs right now.  for some reason if i set it around 230 degrees it doesn't seem to burn the chips that much and produce a lot of smoke.  

what i found i have to do it push it above 250 to say 260 or 270 and get the chips going then drop it to 225 or 230. then it continues to smoke fine.

until.... i need to add more wood chips!!! then when i do they typically don't catch and smoke, i end up having to increase temp again to like 260 or 270..

this is not ideal i want to be able to not have to monitor as much, i mean i don't mind checking and putting in new wood chips when it needs it, but when it is at a low temp it doesn't want to burn chips well...

I research online and saw there was an issue with the chip metal tray, but i have checked mine and i have the most recent one as the metal tray that holds the wood chips is the only piece of metal between IT (the wood chip tray) and the heating coil..

Man, any advice folks?? i just want to keep a consistent smoke going that i can "trust" ??

I'm new at this as well, but just bought the same model smoker. I followed the common advice here, and bought an AMNPS pellet tray.