New to off-set smoking

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

kawboy

Smoking Fanatic
Original poster
OTBS Member
Oct 20, 2015
Central Minnesota
Last night I picked up a New Braunsfel off-set. I've never used one before. Previous owner said he had to run with intake and exhaust almost closed to keep it at 250 using lump. I plan on trying straight up oak. Where should I start? I'm planning on just playing with temps before actually putting anything in the cook chamber. Just curious where to start. Thank you, it's going to be fun! (and only 20 bucks!)

I don’t own one but I might try a quarter chimney of lit coals and 1 split cut in half. If that works then add 1/2 split every 30-40 min to maintain temps. If it doesn’t then just take notes and adjust.
Someone who owns one might chime in.

If you want to smoke something while you are playing with getting used it it, throw a prok shoulder/butt on there, they are pretty hard to mess up and are very forgiving.

I currently use a New Braufels as my primary smoker and actually run it opposite of the way the previous owner had recommended. I run it with the exhaust wide open as well as leave the firebox door wide open unless the outside air temp is below 40 degrees. The previous owner was more than likely adding too much fuel and therefore having to choke down on the airflow to lower the temps.