Maple Bourbon Ham

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

john3198

Smoking Fanatic
Original poster
SMF Premier Member
Dec 2, 2009
Houston, TX
Ok, folks. Here is my first attempt a qview, so hope it works......

Last night we did a Mable Bourbon Ham. The recipe is from "Smoke and Spice" by Cheryl and Bill Jamison. I have been making this for a few years now, so thought I would share it with you folks.

You start with your basic grocery store precooked ham. The rest is majic.

The best thing about this ham was that a couple of friends of mine called right after I took it off the smoker and asked if they could stop by to watch the rest of Monday Night Football last night.

Were they suprised when I laid a couple of plates of this baby on them for game snacks!!!

Also - this smoke was a test of my new Hasty Bake Legacy. This is basically a charcoal grill but claims to have smoking capability. Jeff will know these - they have been made in Tulsa for 60 years and have a kind of cult following there. My family has used them for 50 years.

Thier claim to fame, besides being built like a tank, is that the fire bed can be raised and lowered easily by an external crank to control the heat. Up for searing steaks, down for baking and with a heat deflector for smoking.

My benchmarks for smokers are an ECB which was replaced several years ago by an offset vertical Brinkman. I really liked it, but the box lid has rusted through amd the rest of the fire box is pretty sorry.

Other than not having the capacity of the vertical Brinkman, I think the Hasty Bake does a great smoke. Certinaly comparabile in flavor to the Brinkman and easier to controll the temps.