Hello from Alderney

Discussion in 'Roll Call' started by bonjour, Jan 7, 2008.

1. Hi All!

My name's Bill, I'm fairly new to smoking. I started early last year, using an ABU smoke box to hot-smoke fish that I had caught. Over the spring and summer I found an excellent brine recipe and hot-smoked a lot of mackerel fillets, which I thought were pretty tasty. All my friends who tried them said they were the best they'd ever tasted.

I'm now taking the first tentative steps in cold-smoking, using a home-made contraption consisting of a biscuit tin, a length of aluminium ducting and a cardboard box. I did some Cheddar cheese smoked with oak dust a couple of days ago and it turned out quite strong but nice. My family must have found it OK as it's all gone now.[​IMG]

I've lurked on SMF a few times before and picked up a few useful pointers, so I thought it was about time I joined.

2. richoso1

richoso1 Smoking Guru OTBS Member SMF Premier Member

Thanks for joining us the SMF, best smoke stop on this side of the moon. If you have any questions, fell free to ask our friendly members. Think about some Q Views on that cheese smoke.

3. cowgirl

cowgirl Smoking Guru OTBS Member

Welcome to the forum Bill! Glad you decided to join us!
    Would love to see pictures of your cold smoke set up.[​IMG]

4. Thanks for the welcome guys. As soon as I work out how to post pictures I'll do that Cowgirl. you've got to promise not to laugh though.[​IMG]

5. hillbillysmoker

hillbillysmoker Master of the Pit OTBS Member

Welcome Bill. Lots of friendly folks here who are always willing to share.

6. I think I've worked out how to post pictures. If not this post is going to look very silly.

Here's my home-made cold smoke setup, which is currently in my back yard greenhouse. Don't tell me, I know it's a mess in there, but given a choice between tidying up the greenhouse or smoking some cheese, which would you choose?
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

7. cowgirl