Hacked?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

bellevue

Original poster
Oct 13, 2012
Halkirk, Alberta
Is it possible for an administrator to stop the posts about fortune tellers and love seekers. It looks to me like the site is being spammed with a pile of garbage posts?

With these spamstorms, it's always something new. I'm an admin on a car board and in the last week or so we've had dozens of spammers posting links to video feeds of sporting and other events. And then one day it just stopped. Now it's quiet and I'm wondering, what's the next angle?

This board gets those UK kitchen cabinet clearance spams, and oddly enough they also show up on a Columbus Ohio discussion board.

These guys find ways to get through the spam filters and the spam filter technology changes to meet the demand.. it's a vicious circle and I don't know of any way to stop it completely, unfortunately.

Ad blocker pro takes care of a lot of it. Not all though. Thanks Jeff, for all your hard work to keep the site up and running. I love the new features too.

That Columbus board used to get these wonderfully nonsensical spam messages usually selling some sort of health aids. Some of them read like something that could be performed at an open-mike night in a comedy club.