Good morning or whatever time it is where you are.

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

RobisCluless

Original poster
Jun 2, 2018
Fresno CA
Good day from California. Brand new to smoking and not a BBQ master either. I’m nearly 61 and decided I need to learn the basics of smoking. As my handle suggests I’m pretty clueless. I am replacing my old Weber Kettle BBQ. I ordered a Traeger Pro, a Grill Grate and will most likely get an AMNPS if I need more smoke. Being a newb I plan on starting with chicken and a tri tip. What would you do after that pork ribs perhaps? Thanks and have a blessed day. Rob

Reactions: SonnyE
Welcome! I’m sure some of the other guys who’ve been around here longer could advise better, but I’d go with a Boston Butt. I learned to smoke on those, and never nuked one as bad as the ribs or chicken quarters when I first started years ago. Maybe some sausage or kielbasa?

Good luck!

Welcome. Sounds like a good plan but consider the Tube over the AMNPS. The maze can be finicky in low oxygen smokers/grills. Ribs are faster but nothing is more forgiving that pork butt. Yes butts take longer, 2 hrs per pound at 225 but if you wait it out until the Internal Temp, IT, gets to 205+, the pork pulls easily...JJ

Reactions: js0813
Rob, welcome to SMF from a fellow left coaster in the Central Valley. Glad you're here and looking forward to cutting your smoking teeth on the new toy. I learned to smoke on a Kettle. Still use it weekly, but do my serious smoking on a true smoker. You'll get the hang of your new backyard occupant in no time.

Enjoy the forum!

Ray

Well Rob, you won't be clueless for long around here.
You dream about it, you can find ways to do it here.

Welcome to SMF!