First time overnight brisket

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Sphinxj13

Original poster
May 23, 2020
Hi,
I'm pretty new to smoking and looking to get some input. I would like to smoke a brisket overnight and will be using electric smoker. I'm planning on starting it at around 10pm and eating at about 5pm. What does everyone suggest for the temperature to cook at overnight? Any tips would be appreciated. TIA

As long as you are not cooking at 300° (or making a Smoky Hale 215° brisket), I can't believe it will take more than 9 or 10 hours, and I like to hold them in a hotbox for at least 3 hours. I'm thinking the breakdown will be around 6 hours on the smoker, and 3 to 4 hours wrapped, back on the smoker with some beefy broth in the foil, then rest in the hot box.

Last edited:
Thanks, new to all this and didn't know if it made any difference smoking it slower and longer.

I start my briskets and butts around midnight. 225/230 degrees. Up at 6, check temp then breakfast and morning chores till done.

Reactions: Sphinxj13
First cut about 7lbs

Hi there and welcome!

I believe u are doing a flat cut. At a smoker temp of 275F a pound a naked cooked 7lb flat should take about 8-9 hours if u don't open the door to mess with it BUT it is only done when it is tender not based on time and not on one specific internal temp (IT). Use the IT to tell u when to start checking for tenderness and know that it is tender when u stab all over with a kabob skewer and u get no resistance.

When timing for briskets and pork butts/shoulders always add 4 hours to your time estimate so you can ensure it is done by the time u want to eat.