First ribs..............

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

cascadedad

Smoke Blower
Original poster
Aug 6, 2007
Right side of Washington State
With a small chicken thrown in for fun.

I got home from work yesterday and got busy. My wife had picked up a rack of ribs at WalMart. They were vacuum packed and I think it said extra meaty, or something like that. I am not a meat expert, so I have a lot to learn in that regard as well as smoking in general. Please forgive me.

Fired up the GOSM and applied rub (store bought) a pretty good layer of yellow mustard, more rub and rubbed it in. Also put a small chicken on one of those beer smoker stands Chick Can or something like that. I don't drink beer and don't have any around, so I used a half a can of Dr. Pepper instead. Seasoned it with some chicken rub (store bought also). Put the chicken on the bottom rack and ribs on the top.

Temp was about 240 on the top rack which is as low as I can get my smoker right now. The door gage shows more like 275 and the oven thermometer I used showed about 240. Not really sure if I trust the oven thermometer either, I need to buy new ones and mount them.

The Chicken cooked for about 3 hours and still was not done. I put in the oven in a cookie sheet with some apple juice, covered loosely with aliminum foil for about an hour. It was very good, but slightly dry. I think it needs to be smoked at a higher temp, maybe at 325 or so for a couple hours. More experimenting!

I did about a 3-1.5-.75 on the ribs. They were awesome. They were not fall apart, I kind of like to chew them. This was really a rush job. Just want to experiment and try things out. Going to be out of town this weekend so won't be able to do anything then.