Experiment.....

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

damon555

Smoking Fanatic
Original poster
Jun 26, 2010
Middle Tennessee
I've been brining my pork butts for a few years now and have had great success. Trial and error has taught me that the vast majority of the flavor comes from the salt in the brine. So mostly I've just been using 1/2-3/4 of a cup of salt per gallon of water to brine them.....which is perfect for my families taste. The pulled pork always gets rave reviews.

This weekend I'm shaking things up a bit. I just dropped a 7.5 lb boston butt into a brine solution of 2 gallons of water, roughly 1 gallon of ice, 2 1/2 cups of salt, a large frozen concentrated OJ and a regular sized frozen concentrated apple juice. If all goes well she'll be on the smoker tomorrow night for a nice long, unattended overnight smoke on the WSM. Then after a lengthy rest the family should be enjoying a sweet and savory treat......I'll post the results.....good or bad.

Can't wait to se how it turns out.
popcorn.gif

Mike

Here it is getting ready to go on.......Looks as nasty as a chunk of pork that's been sitting in brine for 24+ hours should.

I'm going to break a few rules with this one......mainly no rub prior to smoking. I have faith that the brining process will take care of business in all aspects of the flavor department except for adding the smoke flavor. The WSM stoked with kingsford blue and pecan chunks will handle that.

Damon,

As soon as I read your post, I instantly thought of pineapple juice. Now I'm considering injecting some in a butt, then brining in a pineapple juice/salt brine. Maybe even spritzing with it.

I'm anxiously awaiting the results of your experiment.

Monkey
38.gif

Reactions: dog158