120 gal smoker build

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

sly anthony

Original poster
Feb 12, 2014
Antigua & Barbuda
Ok folks , i finally found some 120 gallon horizontal propane tanks. So i will be postponing my 250 gal build. I have all the materials. Now i just need tons of technical advice on door dimensions, fire box size, cook chamber cutout, fire box half moon cut out and on and on. I am a welder but i have never attempted a smoker build. Please feel free to advise, comment , criticize as i embark on this build also i beg your indulgence especially when i dont understand things i will ask a million questions on the same topic as i prefer to measure ten times and cut only once. so please if there is anyone who has the time to help i would really appreciate it , i will post pics of what i have accomplishes so far later.

Anthony, afternoon...... First we need dimensions of the tank.... length overall, between the welds.... circumference, diameter, wall thickness of the steel and anything else you can provide.... these numbers are important so stuff will fit together properly and the smoker will work as good as good can get.......

My Meadowcreek reverse flow is a 120 gallon tank. If you want me to take dimensions off of my firebox smokestack whatever just let me know.

Cooked a rack of ribs on it today just a little over three hours start to finish.