Sausage Recipes and Resources

Discussion in 'Sausage Makers' started by solaryellow, Nov 10, 2011.

  1. solaryellow

    solaryellow Limited Mod Group Lead

    The intent of this thread is to create a listing of online sausage recipes and resources and not a how-to thread. That being said, I will start with some of my favorites and edit this later when I have access to my bookmarks at home. Please feel free to add your own.

    Recipes and instruction

    Len Poli - http://lpoli.50webs.com/Sausage recipes.htm

    Wedliny Domowe - http://www.wedlinydomowe.com/sausage-recipes

    The Spicy Sausage - http://thespicysausage.com/sausagemakingrecipes.htm

    Local Food Heroes - http://www.localfoodheroes.co.uk/index.php

    Stuffers Supply Company - http://www.wwf5.com/stuffers.com/content/recipes/sausrecp.pdf

    Northwest Smoking - http://web.archive.org/web/20010214020112/http:/home.att.net/~g.m.fowler/frame/Sausage1.htm

    Hunter Angler - http://honest-food.net/cured-meat/fresh-sausages/

    Let's Make Sausage - http://www.lets-make-sausage.com/index.html

    Meat Processing Products - http://www.meatprocessingproducts.com/sausage-recipes.html

    Sausage Debauchery - http://sausagedebauchery.blogspot.com/

    Cured Meats - http://curedmeats.blogspot.com/

    Portland Charcuterie Project - http://portlandcharcuterieproject.blogspot.com/

    Onkel Heinz - http://www.onkelheinz.de/wurst.htm

    ABZSpiez - http://www.abzspiez.ch/index.php?id=11

    FAO - http://www.fao.org/docrep/010/ai407e/ai407e00.htm

    OSU Sausage and processed meat formulations - https://kb.osu.edu/dspace/handle/1811/25224

    Secrets of meat curing and sausage making - http://www.archive.org/details/secretsofmeatcur00bhelrich

    Resources

    Butcher & Packer - http://butcher-packer.com/

    Mid-Western Research & Supply - http://www.midwesternresearch.com/

    Sausage Maker - http://www.sausagemaker.com/

    PS Seasoning - https://www.psseasoning.com/

    Syracuse Casing Company - http://www.makincasing.com/mm5/merchant.mvc?Screen=CTGY&Store_Code=EM419&Category_Code=2

    Great American Spice Company - http://www.americanspice.com/

    Savory Spice Shop - http://www.savoryspiceshop.com/

    Dupey Equipment Co. - http://www.dupeyequipment.com/

    Spices Etc. - http://www.spicesetc.com
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2012
  2. bmudd14474

    bmudd14474 Smoking Guru Staff Member Administrator Group Lead OTBS Member SMF Premier Member

    Thanks Joel.
     
  3. jrod62

    jrod62 Smoking Guru Group Lead OTBS Member

    Thanks.
    Trying to read everything i can on sausage making.
    This will help a lot .
     
  4. smokinal

    smokinal Smoking Guru Staff Member Moderator OTBS Member ★ Lifetime Premier ★

    Thank-you!
     
  5. michael ark

    michael ark Master of the Pit

    Cool[​IMG]
     
  6. danmcg

    danmcg Master of the Pit OTBS Member SMF Premier Member

  7. chef jimmyj

    chef jimmyj Smoking Guru Staff Member Moderator Group Lead OTBS Member

    Last edited: Nov 10, 2011
  8. solaryellow

    solaryellow Limited Mod Group Lead

    I can put all the other suggestions into the first post to make them easier to find if you guys are ok with it.
     
  9. danmcg

    danmcg Master of the Pit OTBS Member SMF Premier Member

    please do.
     
  10. mballi3011

    mballi3011 Smoking Guru OTBS Member SMF Premier Member

    [​IMG]

    Yes Joel please do your computer powers and make it easy for us old guys that still look for the on n off buttons on theses things. What was that charcuteria book or site that you told me about a while back.
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2011
  11. chef jimmyj

    chef jimmyj Smoking Guru Staff Member Moderator Group Lead OTBS Member

    Please Do...JJ
     
  12. boykjo

    boykjo Sausage maker Staff Member Moderator Group Lead OTBS Member

    Great thread Joel.......  I usually dont do other recipes but Looking at all them........ I can hack them up with some ideas and come up with something really good I hope............

    Joe
     
  13. bratrules

    bratrules Smoking Fanatic

    I have all those sites bookmarked. there is a lot of good methods and recipes on them!!!! thanks for posting
     
  14. bratrules

    bratrules Smoking Fanatic


    +1 these guys have great prices i bought my pink salt cure#1 from they had the best price on the whole net. now i got enough pink salt to last me for a couple of years!!!
     
  15. scarbelly

    scarbelly Smoking Guru OTBS Member

    Last edited: Nov 10, 2011
  16. solaryellow

    solaryellow Limited Mod Group Lead

    Thanks for the input guys. First post has been updated.
     
  17. hoity toit

    hoity toit Master of the Pit SMF Premier Member

    An older friend,  Sonny Kanz and his brother used to make sausage here in New Braunfels using their old German family recipe. Simple but good.

    This was Sonny Kanz’s grandfathers recipe circa 1850 or earlier from Germany. I was given this recipe by his wife after Sonny passed away several years ago. Sonny never would tell me. The saltpeter is a little hard to find around here.

    50 lbs. Meat

    5 oz black pepper = 1 oz per 10 lbs

    1-1/4 lb salt = 4 oz per 10 lbs

    ½ teaspoon saltpeter

    2-½ teaspoon garlic powder

    1/8 oz red pepper

    enjoy !

    1-set casings for 50-60 links
     
  18. nepas

    nepas Smoking Guru Staff Member Moderator Group Lead OTBS Member SMF Premier Member

  19. jak757

    jak757 Smoking Fanatic Group Lead

    Great thread -- thanks!!
     
  20. solaryellow

    solaryellow Limited Mod Group Lead

    Updated with some of the links vagreys posted.
     

Share This Page