Not-Quite-Newbie from Alberta

Discussion in 'Roll Call' started by jerky circus, Mar 9, 2014.

  1. Hi, my name is Daniel, and I'm a meataholic.  I'm 28 years old, and currently live in Fort McMurray, Alberta.  Within the next year I will probably live in Calgary if my wife wins or Edmonton if I win.

    I got my first smoker a little over a year ago, and spent most of last summer making beef jerky.  I spent a weekend with a friend making 80 lbs of sausages last fall.

    My goals for this summer are to make my own bacon, smoked salmon, and brisket.
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2014
  2. bigwheel

    bigwheel Smoking Fanatic

    Well hearty welcome on over here. Mighty worthy goals you have set for yourself might I add.  Thinking of putting bacon and maybe some fish on our menu too. Kindly keep us posted on your lol.
  3. seenred

    seenred Smoking Guru Group Lead OTBS Member

    Hello Daniel and welcome to the forums!  This is a great place to share ideas on all things smoked, grilled, cured, etc.  We enjoy helping and encouraging each other, so just ask if you ever need anything...someone here will surely be able to help.

  4. [​IMG]Hello Daniel, and welcome from East Texas. This is a great site, lots of information and great people that are willing to throw in their two cents worth on about anything.   



  5. Thanks everybody for the warm welcome.  My brother-in-law owns an 80 acre parcel of land that the whole family uses for camping and recreation.  After spending part of the afternoon going through this forum with him, he has offered to exchange some fatties for use of his '76 Corvette once we get the body mounted back on it.  Seems like a fair deal to me.
  6. waterinholebrew

    waterinholebrew Smoking Guru OTBS Member SMF Premier Member

    Welcome, see ya around the forum !
  7. Always good to see another Albertan on here.

    Why not split the difference and go with Red Deer.  It's awfully nice being in the middle.
  8. While Red Deer is quite nice, and my father lived there for a couple years during his childhood, my wife is an interior designer specializing in kitchens and bathrooms.  The company she works for has offices in Fort Mac, Calgary, and Edmonton. 

    I want Edmonton because it is closer to my brother-in-law's acreage, and my wife wants Calgary because her sister is looking to move there.
  9. garyhibbert

    garyhibbert Smoking Guru OTBS Member ★ Lifetime Premier ★

    Hey Daniel

    Welcome to the Smoking  forum.   You’ll find great , friendly people here, all more than willing to answer any question you may have.  Just ask and you’ll get about 10 different answers—all right.  LOL.   Don’t forget to post qviews.


Share This Page