New guy from KY

Discussion in 'Roll Call' started by smokeindaville, Nov 19, 2015.

  1. smokeindaville

    smokeindaville Fire Starter

    Hey all,

    I just found this group this week while researching electric smokers and joined today. I've been enjoying reading the posts and starting to learn.

    A little about me. I'm 54 years old and live in Louisville Kentucky. I'm married with 2 daughters. I bought a Weber Smokey Mountain last year and used it to smoke a turkey for Thanksgiving. It was my first smoke and looked and tasted delicious. Unfortunately that was the only time I used it. Probably because I didn't enjoy dealing with the charcoal and knowing how much to use for the amount of cooking time. I had planned to do more, just never did. I was wanting to smoke a turkey breast this year for Thanksgiving and started thinking about switching to electric.

    My brother in law has a MES 30 and has been really happy with it. He told me about the different things he smokes so I decided I would go with electric. I know it's more but I am going to get a gen 2.5 Bluetooth 30" model from Home Depot tonight. My plan is to assemble it tonight, season it tomorrow night, and test it out with a small pork tenderloin on Saturday. Really looking forward to tasting the results. Then I will do the turkey breast for my family on Thanksgiving.

    Glad to have joined your group and look forward to learning a lot.


  2. bear55

    bear55 Master of the Pit

    Welcome to the forum.  The search bar located at the top of each page can be your best friend.  Have a question/problem requiring an immediate answer, simply search for it.  Feel free to also post any question your may have and a local expert will be along shortly to help you.


Share This Page